Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Interesting Nicknames of IPL captains

2011 Indian Premier League is the fourth season of the Indian Premier League and also called as IPL 4 or the IPL 2011. IPL 2011 has been started from 8 April and it will be ended on 28 May 2011. Ten teams such as Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab, Chennai Super Kings, Deccan Chargers, Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils, Bangalore Royal Challengers, Sahara Pune Warriors, and Team Kochi are playing in the IPL 2011. Ten teams contain ten captains such as Sachin Tendulkar, Adam Gilchrist, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Kumar Sangakkara, Shane Warne, Gautam Gambhir, Virendra Sahwag, Daniel Vettori, Yuvraj Singh, and Mahela Jayawardene respectively. These captains are called by interesting nick names that are provided below.

Interesting Nicknames of IPL captains

Sachin Tendulkar is the captain of Mumbai Indians and known as the Little Master but his greatness is described as the biggest Legend and he is also recognized as “the Ageless Miracle” for India.

Adam Gilchris is the captain of Kings XI Punjab and known as Gilly. In IPL 2011, he is performing well as a keeper so a mix of old and new name for this fine captain is "Gilly Singh".

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the captain of Chennai Super Kings and known as Capt Fantastic, Mahi, and MSD. In IPL 2011, he comes with a new fully shaven look, so the 'Bald and the Beautiful' nickname is given him that could suit him. He is also called as "Stoney Dhoni" for his performance in under pressure.

Kumar Sangakkara is the captain of Deccan Chargers as well as the best wicket-keeper and batsmen. He is also a smoother speaker and on the basis of this quality, he is provided with the nickname "Right Said Fred".

Shane Warne is the captain of Rajasthan Royals and provided with the nickname "Hurley Burly" for his qualities that brings him in some character and color.

Gautam Gambhir is the captain of Kolkata Knight Riders and provided with nickname as the "Laughing Buddha" because he does not smile much.

Virendra Sahwag is the captain of Delhi Daredevils and known as Viru or the Nawab of Najafgarh. He is provided with the nickname, "Loose Kartoos" for his unpredictability and his unbridled fire power.

Daniel Vettori is the captain of Bangalore Royal Challengers and a pinch hitter and is a cunning captain. Nowadays, he is one of the best spinners and his quality of spinning seems more like a scrupulous physician and less like a sportsman so his nickname is "Spin doctor".

Yuvraj Singh is the captain of Sahara Pune Warriors and he is provided with nickname Groovy Yuvi because he is a party boy and also other name "Captain Kamaal" for his son of the soil nature and captaincy.

Mahela Jayawardene is the captain of Team Kochi and known for silk like stroke making. He is provided with nickname "Mighty Mahela" for his respectfulness and soft spoken.

No comments:

Post a Comment